Once an island with 500 dairy farms, the States of Guernsey government bought and merged two private dairies, Grove Dairy and the farmers' cooperative dairy in the late 1930's.
Milk was collected from across the island either by the Dairy in churns or delivered by the farmer to be tipped into pots on scales to give payment.
In World War II, Guernsey became occupied by German Forces and some of our dairy farmers were amongst islanders that were evacuated in anticipation of the invasion. With a much smaller population to supply to, the remaining farmers began trading as individuals until German forces took control and instructed all milk to be sent to one central processing facility.
All the island's milk continued to be processed by one Dairy following the liberation of Guernsey in 1945 and what is now still our island dairy was built in the heart of the island in 1951 where we first began to pasteurise milk.
Our milk has been transported to our customers in many different ways over time. Despite constructing new bottling facilities, financial struggles during the occupation saw The Dairy struggle to afford any containers. Instead, milk churns, jugs and traditional Guernsey milk cans were used to transport milk directly to our customers and pour it into their own containers.
Our iconic Tetrapak cartons were introduced in the 1960s and apart from a brief trial of 'milk in a bag' in the 1970s, our now firmly established litre and half-litre cartons remain in use today.